For lots of us, our abiding memory of creating a document in Microsoft Word is the lurking fear that we would lose all of our work because we forgot to save it. Even as the software was improved throughout various iterations in the early 2000s - prompting you to save your work when you accidentally closed a document - you were only ever one computer crash away from losing your document and having to start again.
In Office 2016, this concern is left in the past. Whilst the autosave feature has been present for a while in Microsoft Office, your work is now recovered into the cloud and kept as a draft until the next time you open the application - be it Word, Excel, PowerPoint or Publisher. Moreover, this recovery procedure ensures that even in cases where you lose the desktop or mobile device itself, your work will still be accessible.
Hopefully, you are able to save your work without having to go through a recovery process to get it back. The advent of cloud ensures that we don’t have to save anything locally - offering the same insurance against damage or loss of our hardware - and also enhancing our document editing experience.
When you save something to the cloud, you’ll have a range of options for save locations. You can put your work in OneDrive, or in a SharePoint site, making it easy to come back to and also easy to share. If there are any issues with saving your work, you’ll receive a notification from the Microsoft Upload Center informing you of this, and giving you options to resolve the issue.
Once it’s saved, your document can be shared with colleagues for review. Instead of attaching the work, leading to multiple revisions being created and your projects being slowed down, you can share a link through email instead, and your colleagues can then edit it in the same document.